# ASSU Executive Meeting Minutes Friday, March 26, 2021 3 pm EST VIA ZOOM

Present: Ikran Jama (Chair), Emma Davy, Fatemeh Nami, Martha Taylor, Foti Vito, Jane Seto (Secretary)

## 1) Approval of the Agenda

MOVED (Taylor/Davy) "To approve the agenda as presented)

\*CARRIED

# 2) Approval of the Previous Minutes – March 12, 2021

MOVED (Vito/Nami) "To accept the previous minutes as presented."

\*CARRIED

# 3) Report of the President

I. Jama congratulated everyone on the passing of the constitutional amendments at the last Council meeting. She has given CARSSU the news and is meeting with them tomorrow.

I. Jama also congratulated F. Nami and P. Grover on their recent re-election to the Executive. She will be organizing a meeting with the new Executive and invited everyone to attend. The new Executive will also be invited to the Dean's meeting and the last Executive meeting. A joint social will also be organized.

# 4) Executive Reports

**Emma Davy:** She recently attended the last EDI committee meeting of the year where they talked about hiring BIPOC instructors. There seems to be a problem with hiring in the STEM field – it may be in the language used in the advertising – something the University is going to look into.

E. Davy also reported that the Faculty needs a member for the URF committee – she asked if anyone could volunteer – M. Taylor said she could do it.

## 5) Report of the Executive Staff

**Jane Seto**: Talked about the new Assignment Award proposal and wanted to make sure the Executive were on board with it so she could report back to Andrea Williams – the

Executive are. ASSU will sponsor the award money for the winners in each sector – Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.

J. Seto announced that she a G. Nowlan have a meeting with Kim McLean and the Faculty on April 12<sup>th</sup> to discuss the plans for opening back up in the Fall.

We have been asked by the Vice-Provost's Office if we want to make a change to our summer fees. It was agreed that we would -J. Seto will look at the numbers and we will discuss it in SLACK.

J. Seto asked about holding a virtual awards ceremony – it was decided that we would not hold one but that the Executive will make a video announcing recipients' names which we would post on social media.

J. Seto asked the Executive to write up a report on the projects they have worked on over the years -a "how to" guide for the new Executive.

# 6) Awards

The Executive went through the various ASSU awards to decide this year's recipients.

**Ranjini Ghosh Excellence in Teaching Award** – the Executive looked over the applications and agreed that Dr. Chandni Desai would be the recipient.

**Urmila Sarkar Award for Outstanding Service to** Students – a few names were proposed but there was no consensus – the discussion will continue on SLACK.

**Terry Buckland Award for Diversity and Equity in Education** – the Executive agreed that the Trinity College Multicultural Society would be the recipients this year.

**Sanjeev (Sanj) Dewett Course Union of the Year Award** – there were two Course Unions up for consideration – the Computer Science Students' Union and the International Student Society – it was decided that this would be decided on SLACK so the other Executives could also vote.

## 7) Other Business - none

8) Adjournment

MOVED (Taylor/Vito) "To adjourn"

\*CARRIED

Secretary to the Executive